New Chairperson for Safety and Health

June 13, 2017 Tara

The McGowan Labor Government has welcomed Stephanie Mayman as the new Chairperson for the Commission for Occupational Safety and Health.

Ms Mayman has a wealth of experience in the health and safety sector, having previously worked for the WA Occupational Health and Safety Tribunal as its designated Commissioner for 10 years.

She was also a founding member of the WA WorkSafe Commission, from 1985, and a member of the Federal Worksafe Commission.

Ms Mayman was a Commissioner of the WA Australian Industrial Relations Commission (2005-15) and was formerly Secretary for Unions WA (2001-04).

The Commission for Occupational Safety and Health is the driving force behind Western Australia’s workplace safety laws, policies and programs.

Commerce and Industrial Relations Minister Bill Johnston:

“I congratulate Stephanie Mayman on her appointment as chairperson. Stephanie brings a wealth of industry knowledge that will contribute to improvements in health and safety outcomes in the Western Australian workplace. I look forward to the valuable contribution she will bring to the Commission.”

Previous Article
Stronger Workers’ Comp for black lung
Stronger Workers’ Comp for black lung

The Palaszczuk Government is seeking stronger workers’ compensation protections for workers with black lung...

Next Article
Another coal dust victim
Another coal dust victim

According to recent reports, another Queensland coal miner has been diagnosed with emphysema and chronic br...